Scientific themes

Themes and theme leaders

As a multidisciplinary project INTAROS conducts research in several scientific and cross-disciplinary themes, shown in the table below. To ensure that INTAROS is maintained as a multidisciplinary project a group of theme leaders are appointed. The theme leaders contribute to the strategy and requirement documents, stakeholder engagement, collaboration with other projects and establishment of Pan-Arctic Forum and Roadmap for future observing systems.
 


Theme

Name

Institution

E-mail

Atmosphere

Michael Tjernstrøm

Stockholm University, Department of Meteorology (MISU)

michaelt@misu.su.se

Ocean and marine
ecosystems

Thomas Soltwedel

Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)

thomas.soltwedel@awi.de

Sea ice

Georg Heygster

University of Bremen (UB)

heygster@uni-bremen.de

Glaciology

Andreas P. Ahlstrøm

Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (GEUS)

apa@geus.dk

Terrestrial themes

Shaun Quegan

University of Sheffield (USFD)

s.quegan@sheffield.ac.uk

Biogeochemistry

Truls Johannessen

University of Bergen,  Geophysics (UiB)

Truls.Johannessen@uib.no

Natural hazards

Mathilde Sørensen

University of Bergen, Geosciences (UiB)

Mathilde.Sorensen@uib.no

Community based systems

Finn Danielsen

Nordisk Fond for Miljø og Udvikling (NORDECO)

fd@nordeco.dk

Climate modelling

Ralf Doescher

Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute (SMHI)

Ralf.Doescher@smhi.se

Data management

Torill Hamre

NERSC

torill.hamre@nersc.no

(links to description of each theme described below)

 

In 2017 the main activities of the theme leaders are to

 

(1)   write thematic sections in the Initial Requirement report (D1.1)

(2)   contribute to update D1.1

(3)   provide input to the Engagement strategy report  due 30 November (D1.3)

(4)   start to collaborate with the task leaders in WP6 to define application studies towards stakeholders

(5)   review the progress of the WP2 survey to assess existing observing systems